One Tough Rose

'Morden Snowbeauty' after the first winter

‘Morden Snowbeauty’ after the first winter

Both the rose and I are back after a brutal winter. Three days ago, we actually had two inches of new snow! Fortunately, the snow vanished within forty-eight hours, but snow in mid-April is indicative of the worst winter I can remember in the past thirty-five years.

This rose is the ‘Morden Snowbeauty’ I planted last June. In spite of its Zone 2 rating, I was apprehensive about its survival under mounds and mounds of snow with less than one year in the ground. Although it still looks a bit weedy, notice all those firm leaf buds ready to expand as the weather improves. As I mentioned in my articles on the Snowbeauty last year, own-root roses from mail-order sources look deceptively like twigs the first couple of years, but they catch up with potted roses by year three.

This entry was posted in Garden Design and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.